Eurovision Countries

I’m obsessed with the Eurovision Song Contest and this blog is dedicated to visiting all of the countries that have entered Eurovision.

In addition to the 40+ countries who enter the contest each year, there are some countries which have withdrawn from the contest, or no longer exist.

Map of Eurovision Countries

In total there are 52 Eurovision countries – which means I have 52 countries to visit.

Before I explain more about which countries enter Eurovision and why, click on the flags below to find out more about my Eurovision adventures.

Countries I have visited so far….

Austrian Flag
Israel Flag
Portugal Flag
Spain Flag
Sweden Flag
United Kingdom Flag

The Full List of Eurovision Countries

Countries participating in 2020

Albania, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Moldova, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and the United Kingdom

Eurovision countries which have withdrawn

Adorra – 6 entries between 2004 and 2009

Bosnia and Herzegovina – 19 entries withdrawing in 2016

Hungary – 17 entries withdrawing in 2019

Luxembourg – 37 entries withdrawing in 1993

Monaco – 24 entries and 1 victory, withdrawing in 2006

Montenegro – 11 entries, withdrawing in 2019

Morocco – 1 entry in 1980

Slovakia – 7 entries withdrawing in 2012

Turkey – 34 entries, withdrawing in 2012

Which countries can enter Eurovision?

To enter the Eurovision Song Contest, a country needs to be a member of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU). To be a member of the EBU, a country needs to be within the European Broadcasting Area.

This area includes some countries on the outskirts of Europe which is why countries such as Israel are able to enter the contest.

Australia have been a Eurovision country since 2015

The only exception to this rule is Australia who were invited to the contest as special guests in 2015. Australia have taken part in the contest ever since.